IMAP and IDOC offer many activities and opportunities to their students, such as research excursions and interactions with scholars from around the world. Visiting faculty give intensive courses or special lectures. Intensive courses offered to date have included subjects such as poetry and prose of Nara and Heian Japan (Tom Rohlich), the history of Kyoto during the medieval period (Matthew Stavros), religious piety and politics during the Heian period (Heather Blair), and ideas about salvation depicted in paintings of the Buddhist six realms (rokudō-e) (Yamamoto Satomi). Guest lectures offered include “The Peoples of the Japanese Islands: Origins and Ethnicity” (Mark Hudson), “Sugawara no Michizane and the Tenjin Cult” (Robert Borgen), “Narrating the Heike Across History” (Mikael Adolphson), “Buddhist Wooden Icons at Tōshōdaiji” (Matsuda Seiichiro), “Archaeological Investigations into the Ōmuro Cairn and Earthen Mound Group” (Sasaki Ken’ichi), “Scent in Japanese Culture” (Chantal Weber), “Nagasaki and Nanban Screens” (Nora Usanov-Geißler), “Historicism and Contemporary Japanese Art: The Case of Rinpa” (John Szostak), and “Cutting, Selling, Repurposing: The Eventful Lives of Handscrolls in Japan” (Melanie Trede).

Complete information on past events can be found on the Events page.

Below is a list of visiting faculty who have given lectures or intensive courses for IMAP and IDOC:

Gina Barnes (SOAS, University of London)

Heather Blair (Indiana University, Bloomington)

Ugo Dessi (University of Leipzig)

Lindsey E. DeWitt (Ghent University)

Torquil Duthie (University of California, Los Angeles)

Bernard Faure (Columbia University)

Chelsea Foxwell (The University of Chicago)

Ashton Lazarus (The University of Chicago)

Bryan Lowe (Vanderbilt University)

David Lurie (Columbia University)

William Matsuda (University of Hawai’i at Mānoa)

David M. Moerman (Columbia University)

Elisabetta Porcu (University of Capetown)

Chari Pradel (California State Polytechnic University)

Judith Rabinovitch (University of Montana)

Fabio Rambelli (University of California, Santa Barbara)

Tom Rohlich (Smith College)

Brian Ruppert (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)

Bernhard Scheid (Austrian Academy of Sciences)

Hsueh-Man Shen (New York University)

Ivo Smits (Leiden University)

Matthew Stavros (University of Sydney)

Nancy Steinhardt (University of Pennsylvania)

Maya Stiller (University of Kansas)

Alice Tseng (Boston University)

Henny van der Veere (Leiden University)

Tine Walravens (Ghent University)

Eugene Wang (Harvard University)

Diamante Waters (University of California, Santa Barbara)

Satomi Yamamoto (Kyōritsu Women’s University)

Yan Yang (Yale University)

Catherine Yeh (Boston University)